March 2, 2016

Connecticut’s Local Health Departments

OLR Report 2016-R-0024 provides a brief overview of Connecticut’s local health departments.

Currently, Connecticut has 73 local health departments serving the state’s entire population. 53 are full-time departments, while the remaining 20 are part-time. The full-time departments include 33 individual municipal health departments and 20 health district departments (multi-town departments serving from two to 20 towns).

By law, a town may have a part-time health department if: (1) it did not have a full-time department or was not part of a full-time district before January 1, 1998, (2) it has the equivalent of one full-time employee, and (3) the Department of Public Health commissioner annually approves its public health program and budget (CGS § 19a-202a).

For more information, read the full report here.